Beauty

My HBC Hair Color Review – Light Havana

I’m an avid fan of hair coloring, if I’m gonna win from a random contest and choose between hair coloring or rebonding, I will definitely choose the former (gawd, I love my curls, so they stay like forever!) I already tried a couple of brands before, one is a “trusted” and expensive brand (L’oreal), and the other is a local brand so the price is kinda half compared to the other (Kolours). But most of my hair color experiences with these products are by D0-It-Yourself (DIY) or Thank you (TY) <person>! and not really from certified hair professionals or the good ol’ salon.

When I learned about the free hair application in HBC Home of Beauty Exclusives, I can’t help but be excited. I gotta try this!

 

For just a minimum price of 300 Php worth of HBC Hair Color products, you are entitled (oh yeah!) to have them apply it for you! No need to ask your mom or tita, or even your besties to put on some disposable hand gloves and play barbie and cross fingers that you achieve the hair color you desire.

But of course this is still an optional service, more like an add-on to the HBC hair color prods you purchase from them as not all HBC branch have this “Make Over Stations”.

I tried this HBC Free Color Application service in HBC Victory Mall Antipolo Branch. 

Since its a newly opened branch in a newly constructed building (not more than 2 years), the store is still in good and in “inviting” condition. It has this “maaliwalas” look and the air con is actually freezing (or is it because I’m just wearing my capris?).

I went there on a Sunday (yes they are so open even on weekends just like all other retail stores). I was advised the day before that their make over services starts from 11am onwards. Aside from the Free Hair Application, they also do other beauty services such as Diamond Peel, facial, cellophane, etc., and availment depends on the products purchased.

I arrived around 10:35 am, and hey, someone is already there so I have no choice but to be on the waiting list. Instead of going back home, the staff told me to wait patiently as she can start my hair color application while the girl who is already sitting in the make over chair waits for the hair color to do its magic.

I then went to the HBC Exclusives Hair Color display stand and got two (2) tubes of 8.5 Light Havana, one (1) tube of 8.1 Light Ash Blonde HBC Hair Coloring Cream and three (3) Oxidizing Lotion in 12%.

Overall, it costs me Php 467.50 which also includes the 2 Sachets of Hair Spa for the after rinse treatment.

According to the make over staff, this is to ensure that all are covered and for maximum effect as I have dark brown w/ reddish streaks, thick hair and hair strand.

After almost an hour, its now my turn to sit in the hot seat a.k.a. make over chair. The HBC make over staff is very friendly and will be very happy to guide you which color to choose. I told her I want a light caramelly brown hair.

 

Leila was very cheerful and “makwento” and for that I’m very grateful coz the application took almost two (2) hours. I didn’t got bored because of her “Vice Ganda movie marathon” stories.

After the hair application, comes another hard part: the waiting part. Leila asked me to wait another hour for the hair color to take effect.

 

All the waiting made me do a selfie…

 

and another selfie…

After my hair application, the HBC staff then went back to rinse the hair of the girl before me, then blowdried her hair.. another one (1) hour waiting for me…

Another customer butted in andwanted a Diamond Peel!! I just observed that only one staff does all the make over services, from Diamond Peel to Hair Color Application, etc. Good thing, they have dedicated staff like Leila. 🙂

So after my rooting is done, rinsed, and blowdried, here’s what it looks like now under fluorescent light of the HBC store:

IMG_20140216_154010

 

 

To summarize, here’s what I think about the HBC Hair Color with Free Application:

Pros:

1. Cheaper than the salon – 300php

2. Free application

3. Vibrant Color

4. Friendly and uber accommodating staff

Cons:

1. Queuing! – lots of hours of waiting

2. Staff shortage – only one staff does all

So if you are planning to have a major hair make over but don’t want to splurge major major bucks for it, you might want to try this HBC Free Hair Color Application service. But of course, don’t expect too much for this service to top your fave good ol’ salon.

DISCLAIMER: This is not a sponsored post. All content provided on this blog is for informational purposes only.

Leave a Reply

